The Old Mill of Guilford has a rich history dating back to the 18th century. The mill was created in 1767 to provide grain products for early settlers in North Carolina. The mill was then occupied by General Cornwallis in 1781 to produce grain for his soldiers.
Throughout the years, the mill has had several owners who have all upheld the traditional technique for producing grain. Its all-natural technique for producing grain allows the mill to stand out from other grain suppliers that do not use all-natural methods.
Today, the mill continues to produce and sell an array of grain products. Its main products are flour, cornmeal and grits. There is also the option to purchase gluten-free products.
Notably, the mill produces a large variety of mixes. Its signature mix is the Sweet Potato Muffin. The mill's other mixes include:
- Pancake Mixes
- Cookie Mixes
- Biscuit Mixes
- Muffin Mixes
- Gingerbread Mixes
- Scone Mixes
- Hushpuppy Mixes
These products along with others can be purchased online through the Old Mill of Guilford website or in person at the mill's location.
Tourists are welcome to visit the mill. The historic mill is popular among tourists especially artists and photographers. The mill is free to visit. Large groups are required to have a reservation. There is also a gift shop that sells t-shirts, tote bags, and more for tourists to commemorate their visit.
Maintaining the mill is crucial after over 240 years of operation. In 2007, the Waterwheel Restoration Project gathered mill volunteers along with the waterwheel factory staff to rebuild the waterwheel. The waterwheel was rebuilt to replace old, rusted buckets. The task was accomplished in a single day.
Hours of Operation and Location
The Old Mill of Guilford is open 7 days a week from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and is located at 1340 NC Hwy 68 North Oak Ridge, NC 27310.
The mill can be reached by phone number at 336-643-4783 or by email at [email protected].