Adirondack Lodge of Mr. William Morris
Courtesy of the Adirondack Experience
2009 Adirondack Lodge of Mr. William Morris
Courtesy of the Adirondack Experience
Camp Intermission's entry gates, with sculpted masks of Comedy and Tragedy (in yellow) Closeup of the masks on Camp Intermission's entry gates Eastern entry gate-post, looking North (away from the estate) Address: Camp Colby Road

Old Address: Northwest Bay Road

Other names: Camp Colby, Lake Colby Environmental Education Camp and Conference Center

Year built: c. 1928. Another source says that land for the camp was purchased in 1911; the camp may have been built as early as 1916.

Architect: William G. Distin and A.G. Wilson, built by J.J. O'Connell & Sons

Other information: A Great Camp built for theatrical agent William Morris on 110 acres on Lake Colby. There are seven contributing outbuildings. A two-story cure porch is attached at the front southeast corner.

The basement is a single room, sixty-five feet long, reached by a circular stone and concrete staircase with wrought-iron posts and a chain railing. The walls are of stone boulders, with stone arches over the windows. A massive stone chimney with built-in shelves and a lighted waterfall in its base dominates the room. A there is also a corner stone fireplace, and carved stone heads decorate the walls.

Guests included entertainer Sir Harry Lauder, Tom Burke, the Irish tenor, Eddie Cantor, Sophie Tucker and Olga Petrova after whom Petrova Avenue is named.

First Floor Plan
Courtesy of the Adirondack Experience.

Front Elevation sketch, Wareham DeLair Architects, undated.
Courtesy of the Adirondack Experience.
Henry Fleury was caretaker at the camp for twelve years, and continued into the "Camp Colby" years.

Other historic properties

Sources

National Register of Historic Places Registration Form

Comments